Naturehike Star River 2 — classic 210T & new 15D Star River UL builds
Published · Researched 2026-09-21
2026 version warning: "Star River 2" now covers two different builds sold under the same name. (a) The classic 210T polyester Star River 2 (NH17T012-T, ~2.6 kg) — the long-running original, still on Amazon (B01IHM7PLE). (b) The new Star River UL (15D nylon, 1.44 kg minimum) — Naturehike's official 2026 lightweight successor, also listed on Amazon as "Star River 2" (ASIN B0DC6NJWHJ, 15D Brown, 4.0★ from 9 ratings per desertcart.in). Always check which build a listing is selling before comparing weight or price.
Version lineage (2023–2026)
- Classic Star River 2 210T (NH17T012-T): 210T polyester, PU3000mm, 215 × 135 × 110 cm, 2.6 kg / 5.73 lb, footprint + mat + 11 stakes + 3 guylines included. This is the item most long-term reviews describe.
- Earlier 20D variant: Naturehike's own blog review describes a 20D nylon / PU4000mm build at ~2,100 g; a Ubuy editorial mentions a 20D model with a tent skirt at 2.25 kg for colder-weather camping. These appear to be earlier or regional builds — exact sequencing UNVERIFIED.
- 2026 Star River UL 15D (current official): Naturehike's official 2026 product page brands it Star River UL 2-Person. 15D ripstop nylon fly with silicone coating (PU1500mm+), 20D groundsheet (PU3000mm+), 15D nylon mesh inner, 210T polyester floor (PU5000mm+), Yuksom UL 8.5 mm aluminum poles, 15 cm aluminum V stakes. Minimum 1.44 kg / 3.17 lb; minimum package 1.62 kg / 3.57 lb. Inner 210 × 130 × 105 cm; outer 220 × 245 × 110 cm; packed Ø13 × 40 cm. Launch year and 2023–2025 change history UNVERIFIED.
- Buyer's advice: if you want the proven, roomier, cheaper classic, buy the 210T listing deliberately; if you want ultralight, buy the Star River UL / 15D listing deliberately. They are ~1.2 kg apart — listings that don't specify fabric are selling you confusion.
Overview
The Star River 2 is Naturehike's two-door, two-vestibule answer to the Cloud-Up 2: a freestanding 3-season 2-person tent that trades a little weight and money for genuine two-person livability and better weather stability. Reviewers consistently frame it as "closer to a true 2-man tent" than the Cloud-Up. In 2026 the line split into the legacy heavy 210T build and the new 1.44 kg UL build — both are legitimate, but they are different products.
Key Specs
| Spec | Classic 210T (Amazon B01IHM7PLE) | Star River UL 15D (naturehike.com, 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Seasons | 3 | 3 |
| Size | 215 × 135 × 110 cm | Inner 210 × 130 × 105 cm; outer 220 × 245 × 110 cm |
| Packed | Not stated on listing (infographic: 45 × 15 × 15 cm) | Ø13 × 40 cm |
| Weight | 2.6 kg / 5.73 lb | Min 1.44 kg / 3.17 lb; package 1.62 kg / 3.57 lb |
| Fly | 210T polyester, PU3000mm | 15D ripstop nylon, silicone coating, PU1500mm+ |
| Inner | Mesh (per infographic) | 15D nylon mesh |
| Floor | Not separately stated | 210T ripstop polyester, PU5000mm+ |
| Groundsheet | 20D silicone, PU3000mm+ (UL page) | 20D ripstop nylon, silicone, PU3000mm+ |
| Poles | 7001 aluminum (older copy) | Yuksom UL 8.5 mm aluminum; 15 cm V stakes |
| Doors / vestibules | 2 doors, 2 vestibules | 2 doors, 2 vestibules |
| Included | Footprint + mat, 11 stakes, 3 guylines | Per official page (verify at listing) |
Pricing
⚠️ Prices move constantly — re-verify live before quoting.
- DealAM cached Amazon offer: $135.15 (down from $159; observed 2026-09-20; cached — indicative, not live; appears to be the legacy 210T listing).
- No directly verified current official USD price for the Star River UL 15D was found in this pass. The desertcart.in mirror of Amazon ASIN B0DC6NJWHJ (15D Brown) shows a small positive star profile but no captured USD price.
- Rule of thumb from reviews: the Star River sits a tier above the Cloud-Up in base price and weight — you pay for the second door and vestibule.
In the Box (classic listing)
- Strapping tape, storage bag, outer fly, inner tent, tent poles, 11 nails (stakes), 3 wind ropes, mat/footprint (per Amazon package-list infographic).
Warranty
- Same Naturehike terms as the Cloud-Up 2: official Limited Warranty covers manufacturing defects (materials/workmanship, zippers/buckles/hardware, fabric/seams), excludes wear and tear, misuse/neglect, unauthorized modifications, accidental damage; original purchaser only; repair-or-replace at Naturehike's discretion. Duration is source-dependent (Amazon listings claim 2-year; Naturehike Africa states 1-year; the naturehike.com warranty page states no duration).
Support & Parts
- Same as Cloud-Up 2: support via Naturehike's contact page / seller channel; parts on marketplaces; no US-based spares program. Buy from an official storefront or Amazon if claims matter.
Community Verdict
- Qualitative consensus: the "true 2-person" budget tent. A two-season long-term owner review (ithinkwemissedaturn.com, 2021) used it as the couple's primary tent: solid 20D construction, "just big enough," easy sub-5-minute freestanding setup, honest 3-season verdict (too much mesh for deep cold).
- The tradeoff, stated well by reviewers (Thrifty Hiker / Naturehike blog): the Star River costs and weighs more than the Cloud-Up, and what you get is two entrances, two vestibules, and better stability/weatherproofing — worth it with a partner or in trickier weather; overkill for a solo fair-weather camper, who should buy the Cloud-Up.
- Mixed notes (Ubuy editorial): some owners found early builds flimsy, with pole-disconnect and sagging complaints; others report the tent holding up well in heavy rain and wind. Consistent with batch/seller QC variance rather than a single verdict.
- Video coverage: Summit or Nothing's Mongar 2 vs Star River 2 comparison and several setup walkthroughs exist for buyers who want to see the pitch before buying.
Honest tradeoffs & ethics notes
- Copycat design: like the Cloud-Up, the Star River trades on Western tent architecture at a fraction of the price — same ethics disclosure applies (no R&D trail, no lifetime warranty, no repair network).
- Honest performance/price: the classic 210T is heavy by UL standards (2.6 kg) but genuinely livable for two and cheap; the new UL 15D fixes the weight at the cost of thinner fabric and a PU1500mm+ fly rating (note: lower HH than the classic's PU3000mm — silicone-coated nylon relies on the coating differently than PU polyester; don't compare the numbers naively).
- What it is not: neither build is a 4-season tent despite some listings' "4 season" copy. The 210T build is not an ultralight tent; the UL build is not a bombproof one.
UNVERIFIED / needs live re-check
- Exact launch years and 2023–2025 revision history for both builds.
- Live USD pricing for either build (cached $135.15 is not live).
- Whether the 15D UL fully replaces the 210T classic or runs alongside it long-term.
- The 20D/PU4000mm and 20D-with-skirt variants' exact place in the timeline.
- Amazon star ratings beyond the small-profile 15D listing snapshot (qualitative only — no authoritative aggregate).
Phase-1 enrichment (2026-09-20) — appended, existing content above left intact
Long-term durability & warranty-claim reality
- Long-term datapoint: ithinkwemissedaturn.com ran the Star River as their primary couple's tent for 2 seasons, calling out "solid construction," 7001 aluminum poles, and 20D ripstop/mesh body holding up as the shared tent while a solo tent handled solo trips. No structural failures reported in that window.
- Owner-practice notes: the double-Y freestanding frame is repeatedly praised for storm stability; the two-door/two-vestibule layout is the durability of the trip — less crawling, less fabric abuse. Amazon's classic 210T listing (B01IHM7PLE) shows a large, stable review base with the usual budget spread: praise for space and rain performance, scattered QC grumbles (stitching, seam tape) typical of multi-seller marketplace stock.
- Warranty reality: same Naturehike picture as the Cloud-Up 2 — official Limited Warranty covers manufacturing defects with no stated duration; regional pages claim 1–2 years; AliExpress/marketplace purchases are effectively claim-less. Inspect seams and zippers on arrival, because you're your own warranty department on the cheapest channel.
Version history — year by year
- Classic Star River 2 (210T polyester, ~2.6 kg / 5.73 lb, PU3000): the long-running listing (Amazon B01IHM7PLE) — unchanged in architecture for years; Naturehike revises silently, so treat it as a continuous listing.
- "Star River 2 UPGRADED" (20D variant): 20D ripstop nylon fly, silicone-coated, PU4000, 7001 aluminum poles, ~2.1 kg / 5.0–5.3 lb, double-layer 4-season marketing — the lighter, pricier sibling. Do not confuse with the classic (see Buying traps).
- 2025–2026: Star River UL 2-Person (15D) — a genuinely new lightweight generation on naturehike.com at $143.10 (grey/khaki, observed via 2026 crawls): 15D fabrics, listed alongside the classic line. This is the modern UL answer; the classic 210T remains the cheap-and-tough answer. Weight figures for the UL (e.g., ~1.4 kg-class claims) are seller-stated — UNVERIFIED in this pass.
- Net: three concurrent Star Rivers (classic 210T / Upgraded 20D / UL 15D) — the naming does not distinguish them clearly on marketplace pages.
Head-to-head vs closest rivals
- vs Naturehike Cloud-Up 2 (catalog: specs/naturehike-cloud-up-2.md, min 1.38 kg, ~$110–140 street): the in-house alternative — the Cloud-Up is lighter, cheaper, and single-door; the Star River buys you the second door and vestibule plus a burlier frame for a few hundred grams and a few dozen dollars. For genuine two-person use, the Star River is the better tent; for solo-plus, the Cloud-Up wins.
- vs Naturehike Mongar 2 (new this track, specs/naturehike-mongar-2.md): the closest fight — both dual-door freestanding 2P tents with included footprints at similar prices. The Mongar (20D, ~2.16 kg all-in measured) is lighter and roomier; the classic Star River (210T, 2.6 kg) is cheaper and tougher-fabric. Pick Mongar for backpacking, Star River for car-camping-adjacent abuse.
- vs MSR Hubba Hubba 2 (catalog: msr-hubba-hubba-2.md, $479.95): the Star River's architecture nods at the Hubba; the MSR is ~1 kg lighter with a real warranty at ~4× the price. The Star River is for buyers who want the layout without the invoice.
Care & maintenance
- Same tent-care fundamentals as the Cloud-Up 2: dry completely before storage (Naturehike excludes mildew damage from warranty); use the included footprint; re-tension silnylon/siliconized fabrics after rain onset.
- The double-Y pole set is robust but the hubs are the stress point — don't force the pitch on uneven ground; let the freestanding frame find its shape, then stake.
- 210T polyester (classic) is more UV- and abrasion-tolerant than the UL 15D variant — but don't basecamp it in full sun for a week anyway.
Buying traps
- Three different tents share the name. "Star River 2" on a marketplace page can be the classic 210T (2.6 kg), the "UPGRADED" 20D (2.1 kg), or the UL 15D — check fabric denier and weight before comparing prices. A suspiciously light or suspiciously cheap Star River is a different variant, not a deal.
- "4-season" marketing on the UPGRADED listing ("ANY-TIME ANY-PLACE TENT," snow claims): it is a 3-season double-wall tent with a mesh inner. The 4-season language is marketing, not engineering.
- Weight shell game: 5.0 vs 5.3 lb, 2.1 vs 2.6 kg — listings mix minimum, trail, and packaged weights across variants. Compare like-for-like.
- PU rating drift: 3000 mm vs 4000 mm claims float between the classic and Upgraded listings; the 4000 mm figure belongs to the 20D Upgraded, not the 210T classic.
Community Verdict — additional voices (appended 2026-09-20)
- ithinkwemissedaturn.com (2 seasons, primary tent): "solid construction," easy sub-5-minute freestanding setup, and the two-vestibule layout earned it the couple's-tent slot over lighter options — livability beat grams.
- Summit or Nothing (YouTube, Mongar vs Star River side-by-side): treats the two as direct competitors — the comparison exists because buyers constantly cross-shop them; differences are in the details (vestibule depth, fabric hand) rather than the concept.
- TikTok waterproof test (2026): a viral-style "pass the waterproof test" clip for the Star River 2 — anecdotal, but the tent's rain reputation is consistently positive across formats.
- Amazon classic listing: a very large customer review base (per seller claims — qualitative only); the recurring praise themes are space-per-dollar and storm-worthiness, the recurring knocks are weight (vs modern UL) and batch QC.
Key Specs — gap fill (appended 2026-09-20)
- Classic 210T: 2.6 kg = 5.73 lb = 91.7 oz; packed 45 × 15 × 15 cm = 17.7 × 5.9 × 5.9 in.
- Floor: 215 × 135 cm (84.6 × 53.2 in) per Amazon classic listing; peak 110 cm / 43.3 in; two 60 cm vestibules (per listing infographics).
- Fly/floor waterproofing: PU3000 (classic 210T); PU4000 claimed on 20D Upgraded — variant-specific, do not mix.
- Poles: 7001 aluminum, double-Y freestanding; 11 stakes + 3 guylines + footprint in the classic box.
- UPGRADED 20D: ~2.1 kg = 4.63 lb; inner 84.6 × 51.6 × 45 in (215 × 131 × 114 cm).
Images
Research image inventory (filenames as archived; the gallery above shows the selected images):
naturehike-star-river-2-1.jpg— (1500x1500) — "PACKAGE LIST" infographic: 2.6 kg / 5.73 lbs, packed ×15 cm; strapping tape, storage bag, outer fly, inner tent, poles, 11 nails, 3 wind ropes, matnaturehike-star-river-2-2.jpg— (1500x1382) — PRIMARY — PRIMARY exact-model shot: Star River 2 pitched, 215 cm / 110 cm dimensions; "Waterproof PU3000mm"; "Weight: 2.6kg/5.73lbs"; floor plan with two 60 cm vestibulesnaturehike-star-river-2-3.jpg— (1500x1500) — "PU 3000MM WATERPROOF COATING": 210T rip-stop polyester layer diagram; enhanced tent corners; pitched tent in rainnaturehike-star-river-2-4.jpg— lifestyle/in-use: green classic 210T Star River 2 pitched on a trail, two campers inside (Naturehike blog review photo; 2026-09-21 gap-fill)naturehike-star-river-2-5.jpg— detail infographic: storage-pocket, insect-proof-mesh and pole-hub close-ups of the NH17T012-T classic 210T (retailer gallery; 2026-09-21 gap-fill)naturehike-star-river-2-6.jpg— packed/stuff-sack: red classic Star River 2 packed in its gray Naturehike-branded stuff sack with compression strap (2026-09-21 gap-fill)